Full List Of The 74 Parties Deregistered By INEC

The Independent National Electoral Commission INEC has deregistered 74 out of Nigeria’s 92 political parties for their lackluster performance in the 2019 general elections.

Some of the deregistered parties include All Blending Party, Advanced Allied Party, We the People Nigeria, Sustainable National Party and Youth Party. INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu who made the declaration at a news conference Thursday in Abuja also announced September 19, 2020 for the governorship election in Edo, and October 10, 2020 for the governorship election in Ondo. He said the decision of the commission to deregister the parties was in line with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as well as the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended). Consequently, only 16 of Nigeria’s 92 registered political parties escaped deregistration by INEC. Yakubu listed the 16 lucky parties as  Accord Party, Action Alliance, African Action Congress, African Democratic Congress, African Democratic Party and All Progressives Congress.

Others are All Progressives Grand Alliance, Allied Peoples Movement, Labour Party, New Nigeria Peoples Party and National Rescue Movement. Those who also escaped deregistration are the Peoples Democratic Party, Peoples Redemption Party, Social Democratic Party, Young Progressive Party, and Zenith Labour Party. However, one of the parties, Action Peoples Party was “technically” not deregistered following a court order restraining INEC from doing so pending the determination of its case by the court. Also, the new political party, Boot Party BP which was registered by a Court order after the 2019 general elections will continue to exist bringing Nigeria’s registered political parties now to 18.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.